rock on!

“Our dreams, and they are made out of real things
Like a, shoebox of photographs
With sepia tone loving
Love is the answer,
At least for most of the questions in my heart
Like why are we here? And where do we go?
And how come it’s so hard?
It’s not always easy and
Sometimes life can be deceiving
I’ll tell you one thing it’s always better when we’re together”

Rock on ; a simple not so complicated and yet intense movie made a lot of us think and talk about things .. how things are .. how you would ideally want them to be .. some felt redeemed.. some talked about their dreams to become musicians which is still a distant dream… others about their passions and what they would ideally want to do (didn’t have to be a stock broker going back to music ). A lot of us talked about the perfect monotoned house !!! I personally loved the layout but I don’t think I can live there! It would bore me to death in five minutes flat. I did totally love Farhan Akhtar…his efforts in trying out various things reminds me of all the old time directors and actors who did everything like directing the movie, scripting it, acting in it, singing, everything .. even serving tea( the MTV ticker told me that on Farhan) and Arjun Rampal looked the complete rock star and Prachi Desai looked very colour co-ordinated to her house!

What was refreshing about the movie was not the movie but the fact that a movie made way for so many conversations .. even as I write this there are some 4 people online talking about the movie.. so the line of conversation starts from

Them  – ” the movie was awesome”

Mee- Yeah

Them – So was the music!!!!!
Mee- definitely !!!
Them  – which is you favourite one??

Mee- I love Sinbad the Sailor the most (and right after the most I like the whole album apart from the snake song)

Them – didn’t you just love the dandia spoof

Mee- oh yes I did .. I still cant remember the song though .. hmm thing to look out for when I watch it again

Them – hmm so the movie makes you think .. my life’s a lot like that.. or I used to like doing this . .. or I let go of my passion for.. I have responsibilities… life is so serious…

And so it continues : )

The introspection Is great.. it gets us to use more of our grey cells and also look a bit inwards that we often don’t…. I know that there are those who are doing things coz they have to and not because they want to .. and it might be scary but well there are some of us who are doing the things we really want to and believe me even that’s scary. It’s a happy bit scary place to be in. Coz if this doesn’t work out well we’d be lost. A lot of friends have declared ambitions of living jobs and going back to things they were passionate about, and some will do things alongside stuff they have to do. All the best!

The above lines from a song came to mind when I was later thinking about the movie. It gets better for the four friends when they are all back together , dusting off the layers of time from the abandoned photographs and friendships  and making incredible music, which I have had an overdose of .. I have been listening to the songs non stop past week.. It instantly maked your head bob!! Which is kinda cool

So anyways.. awesome movie.. a must watch or rather a 5 time watch atleast..even better if you know the songs beforehand.. which would make the last 20 mins completely and truly rock !

and while at it get back to dreaming.. our dreams are what makes us.. heh sounds like that should have been on my previous post!
Rock on! Live your dream

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in september 08
2 comments on “rock on!
  1. Pawan Jalan says:

    way to go, neerja!
    nice picture on home page, did you take it?

  2. neerjakothari says:

    thanks!
    the header image is not a picture that i shot but a picture that i made

Leave a comment